Disciplinary Literacy Connections to Popular Culture in K-12 Settings

READ ONLINE
  • Category : Education
  • Author : Haas, Leslie,Tussey, Jill
  • ISBN : 1799847225
  • Publisher : IGI Global
  • Number of Pages : 423
  • Readers : 3119

Read Disciplinary Literacy Connections to Popular Culture in K-12 Settings book online. Disciplinary Literacy Connections to Popular Culture in K-12 Settings by Haas, Leslie,Tussey, Jill, the book is categorize as Education book. Read More »

Category: Education Books

BOOK OVERVIEWS: Literacy and popular culture are intrinsically linked as forms of communication, entertainment, and education. Students are motivated to engage with popular culture through a myriad of mediums for a variety of purposes. Utilizing popular culture to bridge literacy concepts across content areas in K-12 settings offers a level playing field across student groups and grade levels. As concepts around traditional literacy education evolve and become more culturally responsive, the connections between popular culture and disciplinary literacy must be explored. Disciplinary Literacy Connections to Popular Culture in K-12 Settings is an essential publication that explores a conceptual framework around pedagogical connections to popular culture. While highlighting a broad range of topics including academic creativity, interdisciplinary storytelling, and skill development, this book is ideally designed for educators, curriculum developers, instructional designers, administrative officials, policymakers, researchers, academicians, and students.

Stay Gold

READ ONLINE
  • Category : Young Adult Fiction
  • Author : Tobly McSmith
  • ISBN : 0062943197
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Number of Pages : 313
  • Readers : 2998

Read Stay Gold book online. Stay Gold by Tobly McSmith, the book is categorize as Young Adult Fiction book. Read More »

Category: Young Adult Fiction Books

BOOK OVERVIEWS: Debut author Tobly McSmith delivers a coming-of-age teen love story about a transgender boy who’s going stealth at his new Texas high school and a cisgender girl who is drawn to him, even as she’s counting down the days until graduation. Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Becky Albertalli, and Jenny Han. Pony plans to fly under the radar this year. Tired of getting too much attention at his old school after coming out as transgender, he’s hoping for a fresh start as a Hillcrest High senior. But it’s hard to live your best life with the threat of exposure lurking around every corner. Georgia is beginning to think there’s more to life than cheerleading. She just wants to keep a low profile until graduation . . . which is why she promised herself that dating is a nonstarter for the foreseeable future. Then, on the very first day of classes, the new guy and the cheerleader lock eyes… In this moving, honest debut from Tobly McSmith, one transformative relationship opens the eyes of a whole town—and opens the door for Pony and Georgia to celebrate their truths, even when it feels hard.

101 Outstanding Graphic Novels

READ ONLINE
  • Category : Art
  • Author : Stephen Weiner
  • ISBN : 156163946X
  • Publisher : NBM Publishing
  • Number of Pages : 80
  • Readers : 2257

Read 101 Outstanding Graphic Novels book online. 101 Outstanding Graphic Novels by Stephen Weiner, the book is categorize as Art book. Read More »

Category: Art Books

BOOK OVERVIEWS: The popular primer on the best graphic novels, initially called The 101 Best Graphic Novels, is back in its third updated edition. Expert librarian Stephen Weiner—with the crowdsourcing help of professionals in the field, from artists to critics to leading comic store owners—has sifted through the bewildering thousands of graphic novels now available to come up with an outstanding, not-to-be-missed 101. With an all-encompassing variety of genres, including both fiction and nonfiction, this serves as a great introduction to this increasingly influential world of pop culture and entertainment while also serving as a reference list for fans on what they may have possibly overlooked.

The Whole World's Crazy

READ ONLINE
  • Category : Juvenile Fiction
  • Author : Jimmy Gownley
  • ISBN : 1534402640
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Number of Pages : 176
  • Readers : 9618

Read The Whole World's Crazy book online. The Whole World's Crazy by Jimmy Gownley, the book is categorize as Juvenile Fiction book. Read More »

Category: Juvenile Fiction Books

BOOK OVERVIEWS: Meet Amelia Louise McBride. She's nine years old, a former New Yorker who's now living in a small town after her parents decided to get divorced, and dealing with everything from being the new kid in school to getting her first kiss. But you know what? She's got her mom and her aunt Tanner (who happens to be an ex-rock star) and her friends Reggie, Rhonda, and Pajamaman, and everything's going to be okay. Except, of course, when it isn't. In this first book of Amelia's adventures, Amelia and her friends take on bullies (and Santa!), barely survive gym class, and receive a disgustingly detailed explanation of the infamous Sneeze Barf.

Rutabaga the Adventure Chef

READ ONLINE
  • Category : Comics & Graphic Novels
  • Author : Eric Colossal
  • ISBN : 1613128851
  • Publisher : Abrams
  • Number of Pages : 128
  • Readers : 8452

Read Rutabaga the Adventure Chef book online. Rutabaga the Adventure Chef by Eric Colossal, the book is categorize as Comics & Graphic Novels book. Read More »

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels Books

BOOK OVERVIEWS: In a world where there are dragons, wyverns, and haunted squash, you’d figure someone would have recipes for them, right? Rutabaga and his magic cooking pot, Pot, join young adventurers Winnifred, Manny, and Beef on a quest to defeat a dragon, discover new ingredients, find monsters to have for and/or to dinner, and to save the day through cooking. Rutabaga will dare any danger to uncover new tastes, and there’s a whole world full of food to try—from roasted mud leech to spider soup to peanut butter on crackers. His heroic recipes combine real ingredients, fantasy ingredients, and real ingredients that sound fantastical. Rutabaga the Adventure Chef is the perfect adventure for any kid grossed out when something weird shows up on the dinner table.

I Beat The Odds

READ ONLINE
  • Category : Biography & Autobiography
  • Author : Michael Oher
  • ISBN : 1101560037
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Number of Pages : 288
  • Readers : 4558

Read I Beat The Odds book online. I Beat The Odds by Michael Oher, the book is categorize as Biography & Autobiography book. Read More »

Category: Biography & Autobiography Books

BOOK OVERVIEWS: The football star made famous in the hit film (and book) The Blind Side reflects on how far he has come from the circumstances of his youth. Michael Oher shares his personal account of his story, in this inspirational New York Times bestseller. Looking back on how he went from being a homeless child in Memphis to playing in the NFL, Michael talks about the goals he had to break out of the cycle of poverty, addiction, and hopelessness that trapped his family. Eventually he grasped onto football as his ticket out and worked hard to make his dream into a reality. With his adoptive family, the Touhys, and other influential people in mind, he describes the absolute necessity of seeking out positive role models and good friends who share the same values to achieve one's dreams. Sharing untold stories of heartache, determination, courage, and love, I Beat the Odds is an incredibly rousing tale of one young man's quest to achieve the American dream.

Ethel & Ernest

READ ONLINE
  • Category : Art
  • Author : Raymond Briggs
  • ISBN : 1407093320
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Number of Pages : 104
  • Readers : 8901

Read Ethel & Ernest book online. Ethel & Ernest by Raymond Briggs, the book is categorize as Art book. Read More »

Category: Art Books

BOOK OVERVIEWS: A marvellous, life-enhancing book for all ages, now a major animated film starring Jim Broadbent, Brenda Blethyn and Luke Treadaway Utterly original, deeply moving and very funny, Ethel & Ernest tells the story of Raymond Briggs' parents' marriage, lady's maid Ethel and milkman Ernest, from their first chance encounter in 1928, through the birth of their son Raymond in 1934, to their deaths, within months of each other, in 1971. Told in Brigg`s unique strip-cartoon format, Ethel and Ernest live through the defining moments of the twentieth century: the darkness of the Great Depression, the build up to World War II, the trials of the war years, the euphoria of VE Day and the emergence of a generation from post war austerity to the cultural enlightenment of the 1960s. Ethel & Ernest is a heartfelt and affectionate tribute to an ordinary couple and an extraordinary generation.

Reading Comics

READ ONLINE
  • Category : History
  • Author : Mila Bongco
  • ISBN : 1317776321
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Number of Pages : 238
  • Readers : 5116

Read Reading Comics book online. Reading Comics by Mila Bongco, the book is categorize as History book. Read More »

Category: History Books

BOOK OVERVIEWS: First published in 2000. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Shazam!: The Monster Society of Evil

READ ONLINE
  • Category : Comics & Graphic Novels
  • Author : Jeff Smith
  • ISBN : 1401298060
  • Publisher : DC Comics
  • Number of Pages : 240
  • Readers : 2331

Read Shazam!: The Monster Society of Evil book online. Shazam!: The Monster Society of Evil by Jeff Smith, the book is categorize as Comics & Graphic Novels book. Read More »

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels Books

BOOK OVERVIEWS: When Billy Batson follows a mysterious stranger onto the subway, he never imagines heÕs entering a strange world of powerful wizards, talking tigers, kid-eating monsters, political intrigue and mysterious villains. But Billy encounters all that and more when the wizard gives him a magic word that transforms him into the WorldÕs Mightiest Mortal. Now he must use his extraordinary new abilities to face an incoming invasion of alien creatures and to stop mad scientist Dr. Sivana and his Monster Society of Evil from taking over the world! Collects the four-issue miniseries written and illustrated by New York Times best-selling author Jeff Smith.

Pinky & Stinky

READ ONLINE
  • Category : Juvenile Fiction
  • Author : James Kochalka
  • ISBN : 1603091181
  • Publisher : Top Shelf Productions
  • Number of Pages : Not Available
  • Readers : 9851

Read Pinky & Stinky book online. Pinky & Stinky by James Kochalka, the book is categorize as Juvenile Fiction book. Read More »

Category: Juvenile Fiction Books

BOOK OVERVIEWS: "Kochalka's work makes me feel like I did when I was six years old. He brings the joy back to comics." -- Frank Miller, creator of Sin City, 300, and Batman: The Dark Knight Returns "Oh, lord, did Pinky & Stinky make me six years old again."-- Artbomb Pinky & Stinky are fat little piglets, but just because they're cuties that doesn't mean they're not brave astronauts! Determinedly, they embark on a daring mission to be the first pigs on Pluto, but things go horribly wrong as soon as the journey begins and they crash land on the moon. Soon they find themselves playing a pivotal role in the moon men's battle to free themselves from the oppression of the American space program! This is an unabashedly fun book, like Star Wars mixed with Pokemon, if you can believe that! Packed with action, adventure, and cute little cuties!